Joe Girardi never got an explanation, but he did get his money’s worth.
The Yankees manager blew his lid, and then fired it to the ground after being ejected for arguing what appeared to be blatant runner’s interference during the third inning of his team’s 10-1 victory over the Mariners on Sunday at Yankee Stadium.
With one out in the third and Jean Segura on first, Robinson Cano hit a grounder to first. Segura then began to veer way inside the baseline as he headed for second. Chase Headley threw to Didi Gregorius for the force, but the Yankees were unable to complete the 3-6-3 doubleplay.
Girardi came out to argue, and the Bombers used their replay challenge, which was upheld. The replay officials claimed that while Segura went out of the baseline, he never impeded Gregorius from turning the DP at second, thereby not violating rule 6.01 (j).
“Clearly, I don’t understand the rule, because the runner is not supposed to be able to deviate his path to second base and he’s supposed to be able to touch the bag when he slides,” Girardi said. “I didn’t see either of those things, and I know that you’re not allowed to argue replays. I just wanted an explanation.”
While yelling at crew chief Mike Everitt after being tossed for the fifth time in 2017, Girardi spiked his Yankee cap to the infield grass and threw his arms in the air.
“I have no idea how they could make the call they did,” Girardi said. “I’ll get clarity on it tomorrow, I’m sure. But all I wanted was an explanation, and you can read my lips. I just wanted an explanation. I never got one. Because it’s black and white to me. That’s about as clear a call as you can make, I think.”
On Thursday in Detroit, Girardi blasted the umpiring crew for the way they handled things in a game that featured three bench-clearing incidents and eight ejections — including himself. Girardi also criticized the strike zone.
He has now been ejected 40 times — including 35 as manager of the Yankees.
“There’s maybe not as much clarity as there needs to be with that rule, because my understanding is you’re not allowed to veer or deviate your path into second base to try to get in the way to disrupt the play,” Headley said. “Honestly, to me, the way that I understand the rule, that was a clear a case as you have. But apparently not. Honestly, I’m not sure the reason it was not overturned.”